Welcoming Speech by YM Hj Mahadi bin Hj Md Tahir, the President of PABD

Bandar Seri Begawan – The Astronomical Society of Brunei Darussalam (PABD) held it’s 3rd Annual General Meeting today (28 October 2018), at Al-Afiah Hotel Kiulap. Present at the meeting was YM Hj Mahadi bin Hj Md Tahir the President of PABD and YM Hj Johar bin Hj Mohamad Vice President of PABD.

In the President’s opening remarks, YM Hj Mahadi said that various society’s activities were carried out since founded in 2003 and the number of members increased over years. He expressed his appreciations to all Exco and members of PABD for the support and hoped for the new elected executive members will help to steer the future direction of the Society towards achieving it’s goals.

The meeting also discussed the Society’s Annual Report 2007 – 2018 (download PABD Annual Report: LaporanTahunanPABD20072018), a way forward for the society is to continue to provide support especially to various Government agencies and public members. In the report, the Secretary General, YM Hazarry Hj Ali Ahmad, recommended for the society to build and expand networks with other regional astronomical associations such Persatuan Falak in Malaysia and Indonesia.

3 resolutions were moved at the AGM:
(a) New registration and annual fees for Ordinary (B$15) and Student membership ($5);
(b) Rector of Universiti Islam Sultan Sharif Ali as an additional advisory board member;
(c) New address for PABD at Pusat Kepimpinan dan Pembelajaran Sepanjang Hayat, UNISSA.

At the event, appreciation certificates to all 2007/2018 Executive Committee members was presented by the President of PABD.

11 newly elected PABD Executive Committee members for 2019/2020 sessions were:
(a) Yang Dipertua (President): Hj Mahadi bin Hj Md Tahir
(b) Naib Yang Dipertua (Vice President): Hj Abdul Aziz bin Haji Akop
(c) Setiausaha Agung (Secretary General) : Hazarry Hj Ali Ahmad
(d) Timbalan Setiausaha I (Deputy Secretary I): Pg Shahdani bin Pg Anom
(e) Timbalan Setiausaha II (Deputy Secretary II): Dr Hj Mohammed Hussain bin Pehin Penyurat Hj Ahmad
(f) Bendahari Agung (Treasurer General): Shaifulbahri bin Haji Ahmad
(g) 5 ahli Jawatan Eksekutif Biasa (Exco): Hj Julaihi bin Hj Lamat, Mohd Yussof Bin Mohd Noor, Md Qawiem Hj Md Jamil, Nur Azrinah binti Omar & Muniratussafiah Binti Johar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.