[REPOST] For Press Release 03 April 2005

Released 16 April 2005.

Awang Hj Mahadi bin Mohd. Tahir, a surveyor, was re-elected to be the new president of the Brunei Darussalam Astronomical Society (PABD).

The election took place at the association’s first Annual General Meeting (AGM) last Friday afternoon (01 April 2005) at International Convention Centre in the capital. The meeting commenced at 3.00 pm and proceeded with the restructuring the Pro-Tem committees, signing of the Society’s Constitution and preparing its annual activities.

The newly elected Vice-President is Ustaz Johar bin Hj Mohamad and the position of the Honorary Secretary went to Hazarry bin Hj Ali Ahmad. The society’s new Vice-Secretary I and II are Hj Julaihi bin Hj Lamat and Pg Shahdani bin Pg Anom repectively. While Dk Ratna Suria bte Pg Dato Hj Hamzad was voted as the new Honorary Treasurer.

Group Photo.
Group Photo.

Five new committee members were also elected. They are Hj Mohd Azri bin Hj Awang Ibrahim, Ustaz Hj Abd Aziz bin Hj Akop, Ak Omarali bin Pg Muslim, Daud bin Jihan and Dk Hartyana bte Pg Hj Osman.

Signing of the Constitution of Brunei Astronomical Society by the President.
Signing of the Constitution of Brunei Astronomical Society by the President.

Among the objectives of the association are to promote and encourage astronomy especially Islamic astronomy for the country and to channel information on issues relating to astronomy.

Ever since its first establishment in 2003, the association has organised many astronomical related activities which includes public sky watch and seminars.

News on the society’s current activities is available through its website www.bruneiastronomy.org

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.